First-timer’s guide to roller derby

on

A commentary

By Sarah Bauman
MSUM mass comm major

I went to my first roller derby bout not knowing a thing about the sport.

I hadn’t seen “Whip It,” I didn’t know what a Lead Jammer or a Pivot Blocker was and I knew nothing about Passing the Star.

But that first bout was nothing but enjoyable.

I’d been talking about going to a bout for months, ever since the first time I saw the Monkey Wenches listed on a poster.  I’m a sucker for clever names.

Click here for photos from the bout

Learning the rules

From what I’d seen and heard about roller derby, I was expecting an exciting bout and lots of violence.  The ladies of the Monkey Wenches and the Haute Dishes didn’t disappoint during the pre-bout.  The rules are a little confusing, but I caught on about halfway through the first game.  Thankfully the rules were explained between the pre-bout and main bout.

For a list of official rules, click here

The game got more interesting during the main bout between the Northern Pains and the Harbor City Roller Dames from Duluth, Minn.  It was a longer, faster-paced game, which made it easier to figure out the rules.

Click here to watch a video clip

Roller derby brings a unique crowd.  People of all ages were there, and one fan was enjoying the game while knitting.  While there was a lot of cheering and shouting, it was all in good sport.

I was pleasantly surprised with my first experience at roller derby.  It’s worth the cost, it’s a lot of fun and I can’t wait to go to another bout.

Katie Schroepfer and Jared Swanson, both students at MSUM, offered some advice to first-timers:

  • Know the rules before you go
  • Watch “Whip It”
  • Bring cash, no cards are accepted
  • Learn players’ names/numbers so you know who to look for
  • You can stand on the floor around the track to watch the bout, just follow the rules
  • Get there early for a good parking spot

The FM Derby Girls next bout is Dec. 18 at the Fargo Civic Center.  There is also a meet and greet/recruiting event Dec. 20 at Skateland in Fargo.  Click here for more information

For a full list of events and more information about the FM Derby Girls, check out their website here

Leave a comment